London - Paris....advice please

surfatwork
surfatwork Posts: 82
edited December 2012 in Road beginners
Hi, I am fairly new to proper cycling, but signed up to a London-Paris charity ride next Sep. Any tips much appreciated. A few questions that come to mind...
1. Training program: I am just starting out, so how would you suggest I work my way upto being able to do 80-100miles in a day, and for 3 days consecutively?
2. Any suggestions on bikes would be welcome: will a £650 range or less road-bike do, or do I need a £1000 one or something even more pricey? Of course, I completely realize that the best bike is only as good as the engine.....so
3. I am currently banging away on an old MTB - my idea being that if I can do 30-40miles on an MTB, I should be fit enough (i.e. have the strength and stamina) to ride 80miles on a road bike. What do you guys think?

thanks
2011 Scott S30
2004 Trek 4500
2009 Trek 7.1

Comments

• 1. definitely need a few 60-80 mile rides under you belt. and in quick succession. but bear in mind. on the ride, with everyone around you. it will be easier to push yourself past your limits and hit 20+ miles over your average.

2. as long as the bike is comfortable and and feels nimble and fast under you, then price has no bearing. get to shops and test ride as many as possible.

3. thats too much of an increase. its true road bikes give MUCH less percieved effort than a mtb, but you would probably get away with another 10 miles or so, not more. in my opinion, the overall fatigue of a long ride on a road bike compared to a mtb is a massive difference, but it wont double your distance.
    Bikes: CAAD8 105, CAAD10 105.
  • thanks, @grechzoo
    2011 Scott S30
    2004 Trek 4500
    2009 Trek 7.1
  • smidsy
    smidsy Posts: 5,273
    Train on the bike that you intend to do the actual trip on (so get it sooner rather than later) as this will mean you get comfortable on that machine and sort out positioning etc.