Group Rides

richsieb
richsieb Posts: 137
edited December 2012 in Road beginners
My local bike store runs group rides every weekend, so I was thinking about going along to one. They say any level of rider is welcome, but having only ridden on my own, I do not want to come across as a complete novice when riding in a group. Is there any fundamental basics or tips for group riding so it doesn't all go tango uniform? :lol:

Comments

• Bobbinogs
    Bobbinogs Posts: 4,841
    richsieb wrote:
    ... I do not want to come across as a complete novice when riding in a group...

But you are a complete novice when riding in a group if you haven't done it before so why not tell them this when you meet up? That way, one of the group can watch out for you, go through their basic etiquette and warning signals, etc., and make sure you are ok with the pace, etc. The only thing I would add is to keep your lines predictable and sweeping, that way the old hands will be able to work out what you are doing, even if they don't like it :)
  • If they say any level is welcome they probably mean ANY level - which is a good thing as the group will probably split into easy, medium and fast paced groups.

The rides will probably be lead by someone who with experience who knows the good routes, so it will probably not be too difficult. When you're starting in a club you're expected to find your feet first with a few easy rides, often at the back as you pick the general feel about what to do and what signals, if any, the club use.

The most difficult thing when riding in a group first time is gaining confidence being so close to another wheel - if it feels uncomfortable slow down and have a chat with one of the experienced riders, i've found they are only too willing to pass on advice.

One thing you will find is that you will ride a longer distance but your legs will feel like they've only done a short ride - such is the joy of group riding. Just turn up and relax and enjoy.