Wilier Project...

nickanderson
nickanderson Posts: 4
edited December 2012 in Your road bikes
Hi guys,

I haven't been in to road bike for long, in fact I bought a Scott Speedster S20 about 2 years ago when I was getting into cycling and triathlon.

Over the past year i signed up for an Ironman and sold my Scott to help fund a Cervelo P2C, I have been using this entirely for the past 9 months so that I got used to riding it in all conditions and felt fully 'bike-fit' for my ironman.

Anyway, after that race it was time to buy another road bike and I fancied a project. Not having enough money to spend thousands on the latest bikes I decided to buy a piece at a time and slowly build up to a complete bike. I already had wheels that came off my TT bike as I had replaced those with tubs.

Pretty much everything was second hand. I love the looks of the wilier frame, and the colours seemed far less common than some of the others. The frame was perfect apart from a stone chip on the fork leg.

I decided on dura-ace as I would never be able to afford a carbon framed bike complete with a top end group set, but if I bought one piece each payday, I might just be able to. The cranks were new and unused but were second hand as someone couldn't complete a project. Rear mech had been used on a show bike so was discounted. The bars had a scratch on them so ended up being an incredible bargain at £60.

I did buy a new saddle, chain and front mech and all it left for me to get was the shifters...gulp!! I had no idea they were so dear! Are 3 months looking on eBay I never saw a set of 7900 shifters so had to bite the bullet and buy them new.

Anyway, the bike was built and I have to admit that I love it! It's so smooth and erily quiet,I feel none of the bumps in the road. It's come in at 19lbs according to the lbs but with me being 82kg, the weight hardly matters.