Sportive advice

Hello to everybody,

I just joined this forum, found it when searching information for "La Marmotte" and looks like here are people with experiences about it.

So my concern is, this: will I be able to finish it? By finishing I mean, finish it with a reasonable time, I don't want to agonize it from the middle of the stage up to Galibier.

I am 28 years old man, and I am in my third year of continuous cycling now. I picked up my road bike last year year around June and since I made around 7000kms on it, I also do mountain biking.

The longest rides I had until now look like these: 170kms 2000m + climbing done by myself around 8h - I did not had a computer with me back then, 140kms with 2000+ with a cycling mate in 38 degrees Celsius or more, I felt good and pushing it on the climbs - but this one was with a break for food in between, I wanted to continue but my mate needed food, anyway it took around 6h.

I also made a training plan for this, but still my concern is this: is it too soon to try "La Maromotte" for me, or is just a stretch and with proper trying I will be able to finish it properly?

Thank you all.

P.S.: and apologies spelling errors, I am not a native writer(or speaker).

Comments

• stueys
    stueys Posts: 1,332
    You've been cycling for 3 years so its a safe assumption that your body has adapted to the demands of cycling and ou probably have a resonable base level of cycling fitness. You have over six months to train. I think you'll be fine, sketch out a training plan and get going!
  • ju5t1n
    ju5t1n Posts: 2,028
    I agree. You'll be fine. Enjoy it, it's a great day out.
  • Thank you guys!

I registered and got a payment receipt, plan is also sketched , the real training starts around middle of February, until then I am going to do one/two indoor training sessions per week and complement with running.