Strava or Map my Ride

gerroffandmilkit
gerroffandmilkit Posts: 160
edited November 2013 in Road beginners
As a beginner I would like to gauge my progress on my rides out. Looking to record distances, times and comparing too.

Several apps out there offering similar and different features. I have Strava and Map my Ride at the moment and have just the one ride recorded on MMR. Haven't used Strava yet.

Any recommendations on the best app to use to give good basic info on my rides and times etc?

Many thanks.

Comments

• I've tried them both and at the moment I'm using strava. To be honest, for just tracking progress either will do but I like strava because I can see my progress on the segments against other people (pretty poor!!) just use one and stick with it
  • STRAVA is all you will need

start using it and you wont turn back fella
    Specialized S Works SL2 . Campagnolo Record 11spd. rolling on Campag Zonda wheels

http://app.strava.com/athletes/881211
  • Never used map my ride, but strava is pretty good, and straightforward to use.

It tracks all your time, distance etc, and is a great training tool.

You can also compare your results with your mates and follow other folks, if you're into that kind of thing!
  • Strava gets my vote too
    Does all tracking you need plus segments add sprint training to my rides! Ready made interval training on my regular route.
    Triban 3
  • elderone
    elderone Posts: 1,410
    Another vote for strava,I only got it to keep a personal record but you cant help trying harder on the segments,which i guess is a useful training tool.
    Dulce et decorum est Pro patria mori
  • I use Endomondo pro & have found it to be very good
    PS I realised the title was Strava or Map My Ride
  • Having used both, there are a zillion reasons for saying go with Strava.