What Bike?

davethedrummer
davethedrummer Posts: 5
edited December 2012 in MTB buying advice
Hi all,
Just a bit of advice required re a bike purchase. I'm fairly new to mountain biking but reasonably fit for being the wrong side of forty. I've got a few UK Cycling Event road sportive and mtb events under my belt now and I'm looking for a decent all-round hard tail. At 5ft9, being of medium build, shorter in the body and slightly longer in the leg, I've concluded that I'm looking for a size 26" wheel, medium frame with not too long a top tube.
The short list, according to budget, is as follows and your opinions will be much appreciated:

Scott Scale 60, 50 or 40, 2012
Scott Scale 650, 2013 (slightly more than I can really afford)
Genesis Core 26.5 Core 2012
Cannondale Flash F3 Aluminium 2012
Cannondale Trail SL1 2012

Many thanks

Comments

• cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    Links to what you are looking at would help - people don't memorise spec and stuff.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • Looking at these you seem to have a max budget of £1300 Or £1000?

If you want "decent all-round hard tail" then id say the Genesis. Really nice fork and brakes.
    For racier id go for the Scale 40 2011 from Pauls cycles for 1k.

I would advise looking at the Radon from Bike-discount.de and the Canyon Range from Canyon cycles. These will give the same spec as the others but for a lot less money.
  • Thanks 70\'sPenguin - very helpful.
  • supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    looking for a size 26" wheel, medium frame with not too long a top tub

Not the best conclusion I am afraid - you need to try some out. 'Medium' is a massive variation, as is any listed 'size'.