Complete Beginner looking for <£400 bike and advice!

PaulioBH
PaulioBH Posts: 3
edited November 2012 in MTB buying advice
Hey guys!

am new to this site and noticed it whilst searching the web and its clearly the place to go when wanting bike advice!!

So im looking for advice on getting a bike for Christmas, I've ridden about 6 times since 2006 (one of those times was in belgium, so very flat, and another was in sri lanka, so pretty different than the area near me in Kent!) so am much more than a beginner!

This bike would mainly be used for cycling to and from school each day (plan to start in about february time, depending on weather!) which is about 10 miles along country roads with many ups and downs. And also through the local woods very often at weekends as I want to get into off-roading!

My budget's about £350, but can go up to 400 but it'd need to be very good for that price to convince parents!! I have no issues with used bikes so long as they're in good condition!

Im angling it at mtb's mainly because i really dont like roadbikes from my (admittedly small) past experience with them! Preferably it'd have suspension at the front, so a Hardtail, and if its possible at my budget to have air forks rather than spring's, and a 18" or 20" frame. It'd also be rather handy to have a light frame but am willing to compromise as i realise not all is possible. It would also be good to have a rugged bike that is easy to repair but unlikely to brake, if you can get them at this price!

One other issue is with security as often go into town with friends after school and want my bike to be as secure as possible! does anyone have any tips or products that they'd recommend, other than being sensible where you lock it up and not just locking the tires!!

Also if you have any advice on accessories then that'd be appreciated too!!

Many thanks!!
-Paul

Comments

• cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    For a bike, the sticky just above your post.