Recommend me a bike please

foomonkey
foomonkey Posts: 16
edited November 2012 in MTB buying advice
Hi all,

I'm looking to buy myself a bike in order to get fit and explore but i'm in need of your help with recommendations on what bike i should buy? I'm new to the cycling scene having not been on a bike since during my teens. I've read the stickied thread for 1st time buyers with recommendations but i don't believe (or am i wrong?) those bikes cater for me due to my requirements of my body and life.

Some info on me...

First and most important, I'm 6ft 9 tall (which is my main issue which i feel the stickied thread can't help me with) so i would need a really large frame which will probably narrow the choices of bike since certain brands may not cater for my size. I also happen to live in a flat on the 3rd floor so i would need a bike that is fairly lightweight. I have already settled on the idea of going for a cross country mountain bike as i need something versatile in order to use it for commuting 10 miles (there an back) on the road for work but also to use it in my leisure time to go cross country, off road, down trails, etc.

From what i've leant so far, here is a spec list of what i am after;
    XXL/23-25 inch frame (i think) Lightweight Lockout (i did have hardtailed on my spec list but i have a question about lockout which may mean i would go for a full suspension bike. if i had lockout which i believe locks the suspension, could I free the lock on the front and rear suspension for the more challenging routes, then lock the rear suspension only and just keep the front suspension free for more bumpy flat routes and also then lock the full suspension for when i plan to use the bike on the road while i commute?) Hydraulic brakes Trigger shifters £300-£600 price range