Core 50 - recon gold - which spring?

Godha
Godha Posts: 4
edited November 2012 in MTB general
Hi, my first post so erm - hi!

Does anyone know what spring is in the recon gold fork on my Genesis Core 50? It is a touch firm and I would like to go one grade softer but not sure what is in there. I am fairly new to MTB's could I open the fork up without having to drain and replace the oil etc and would it be clearly marked which spring it was?

Cheers.

Comments

• cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    They are different colours, probably red.
    http://www.sram.com/_media/pdf/service/ ... _chart.pdf
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • Godha
    Godha Posts: 4
    Ok thanks.
  • chez_m356
    chez_m356 Posts: 1,893
    Godha wrote:
    could I open the fork up without having to drain and replace the oil etc

Cheers.
    no, you need to remove the lowers to be able to change springs, spring and spring shaft are one unit, shows you here http://cdn.sram.com/cdn/farfuture/X35Yv ... manual.pdf
    Specialized Hardrock Sport Disc 10- CANYON Nerve AM 6 2011
  • jairaj
    jairaj Posts: 3,009
    From the manual you posted looks like you can replace the spring without replacing the oil?

Take a look at page 13. Seems like you just need to remove top cap, pull the spring out, let the oil drip back into the fork and drop a new spring. prob a 10-15min job. or have I understood incorrectly?
  • benpinnick
    benpinnick Posts: 4,148
    Thats about it, but you might need to unscrew at the bottom (you do on some forks) which will mean oil will come out the bottom. Just make sure you catch it! You might want to add more oil than recommended if your going for a softer spring in order to gain a bit more progression at the end of the stroke to prevent bottom out.
    A Flock of Birds
    + some other bikes.
  • chez_m356
    jairaj wrote: