Garmin 500 reliability vs other comparable devices

daxplusplus
daxplusplus Posts: 631
edited November 2012 in Commuting chat
Was wondering if anyone had views on the reliability of a Garmin 500 Edge (or similar GPS devices eg Bryton 40)

Basically Santa should be bringing me a Garmin 500 Edge with HRM and Cadence\Speed sensors this Christmas :D and I want to use it day in, day out on my commute. The only worry I have is whether it'll stand up to this through all kinds of weather and use on covering maybe 5000+ miles a year. I would have thought that this is exactly what these devices are designed to do but was just curious to peoples experiences.

So the question is not really which is better functionally - more whether they last.

Thanks.
Sometimes you're the hammer, sometimes you're the nail

strava profile

Comments

• jonginge
    jonginge Posts: 5,945
    edited November 2012
    I've been using my 500 on the commute since I got it a couple of years ago. It's been perfect. I don't bother with the HRM on the commute though
    FCN 2-4 "Shut up legs", Jens Voigt
    Planet-x Scott
    Rides
  • It wouldn't be much of a cycle computer if it didn't work in the rain would it?

Mine's still going strong and I use it daily for 30miles commuting and the occasional weekend ride (when I have time to weekend ride)... Longest ride I did was 126miles, it had no issues with a ride of that length that took us about 8 hours to complete (battery still had loads of life left)

Great computer by the way.... Although I don't have the speed/cadence sensor as I don't care for my speed reading to be that accurate and choosing a good cadence has never been an issue for me so don't see the point in monitoring it.
  • It's not the 500, but my old Garmin edge 205 is still going wince I bought it in May 2007 and has been out in all weathers and commutes almost every day!