Stans Fluid Change

Jgb1
Jgb1 Posts: 50
edited November 2012 in MTB workshop & tech
I have been using Stans fluid for about 6 months now and am thinking its about time to add more while the goings good.
Are you supposed to remove the old fluid or just top it up?

Comments

• top it up, you'll prolly find the fronts fine but the rears low,

i made my own fluid a couple of months back, liquid latex, de-ionised water, tumble dryer fluff (seriously!!!),
    some people add in some Xanthen gum to thicken it a little, but have had no issues with mine, mixed 200mm latex 100mm de-ionised water and a handfull of fluff to create the clogging ingredients for holes, total cost £9 for what'll make 3L!

theres a HUGE thread on mtbr.com forum about it,
    Timmo.
    After all, I am Cornish!
    http://cornwallmtb.kk5.org/
    Cotic Soul, The bike of Legends!:wink: Yes, I Am a bike tart!
    http://www.bikeradar.com/forums/viewtop ... 1#16297481
  • Jgb1
    Jgb1 Posts: 50
    i made my own fluid a couple of months back, liquid latex, de-ionised water, tumble dryer fluff (seriously!!!),
    some people add in some Xanthen gum to thicken it a little, but have had no issues with mine, mixed 200mm latex 100mm de-ionised water and a handfull of fluff to create the clogging ingredients for holes, total cost £9 for what'll make 3L!

Ok Thanks!

Yes I have heard about that and will try it next time but I've got half a bottle of Stans to use first.
  • How long it lasts partly depends on how well sealed it was when you first added the sealant.

I never got a really good seal on my first attempt with Stans due to a slight leak around the valves.

Whilst it was only a slow loss the exposure to air meant the sealant was completely dried out after 3 months.

The second time, I peeled off the old latex and started again taking care to properly seal the valves and this time they hold air aswell if not better than when I ran tubes.