Rockrider 8.1 on ebay

Chelloveck
Chelloveck Posts: 15
edited November 2012 in MTB buying advice
I'm new to this. I was planning to bide my time and research as much as possible before making a purchase, but idly browsing ebay today, I see there is a Rockrider 8.1 in my area! It looks like an older model, and I was wondering what value you guys would place it at.

My original budget was going to be set somewhere between £300-400 but I was interested in possibly stretching my budget to a new RR 8.1. Planning to take it around the Peak District on easy trails to begin with and then work up from there.

Any help appreciated.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/btwin-8-1-roc ... 4d06f6b0c6

Comments

• mcnultycop
    mcnultycop Posts: 2,143
    I think they need to sort the alignment of the bars out.
  • Heh - yeah. I take it it was like that just for storage purposes. Not exactly glowing salesmanship in the ad.

Any other input? I mean this is exactly what I didn't want to do - snatch at a possible deal without fully researching my options, but I just want to make sure I am not missing a potential one-off good deal so close to home.

I may end up getting a new 8.1 for circa 300 quid more and kicking myself for missing this. I dunno. Thoughts?
  • mcnultycop
    mcnultycop Posts: 2,143
    I don't really know what the question is, but go and see him and offer him some cash if it looks OK and if the seller looks OK.
  • mcnultycop wrote:
    I don't really know what the question is, but go and see him and offer him some cash if it looks OK and if the seller looks OK.

Guessing it was the bit where the op said "and I was wondering what value you guys would place it at".

Ask the seller what year it is, compare the spec and price to the latest one and if possible go round (as its local to you) and give it a good going over.

If you're still not sure then post up more details on here and I'm sure somebody with a lot more knowledge than me will help you out :wink: