Which Full Sus bike?

Polf
Polf Posts: 64
edited November 2012 in MTB buying advice
Hi,
I am relatively new to the MTB world, taking it up 12 months ago. I have really caught the bug and have been riding a hardtail XC. I really want to try a Full sus bike but do not know much about them. I'm looking for something that will handle the trails, incuding the uphills, but will give me more confidence when hitting the downhills. I am looking to spend between £1500 and £2000. I know there is a lot to choose from, but if I go into a shop, they naturally only tell you about the bikes they stock and was hoping to get a broader prospective from people who have tried and tested. Any help would be appreciated.
Yeti SB95
Nukeproof Mega AM 275
On One 456C

"Never trust a man who, when left alone in a room with a tea cosy, does not try it on"

Comments

• supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    Depends how hard the downhills are really - what sort of terrain do you plan to hit?
  • Polf
    Thanks for the reply. I know this is a very general question and was more looking for what type of bike to get rather than particular brands etc. (Although any suggestions would be welcome). I ride mainly at Swinley but try to travel to different areas. Have ridden Forest of Dean, Cleeve Hill and Whinlatter. (Also tried Aston Hill, but was far too technical for me). I guess i'm looking for a bike that is capable of a bit of everything. I'm not making this easy, am I?
    Yeti SB95
    Nukeproof Mega AM 275
    On One 456C

"Never trust a man who, when left alone in a room with a tea cosy, does not try it on"
  • supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    Sounds like you need the typical 'All Mountain' bike - this will have a bit more travel than say a trail or xc bike, and more stable geometry for the downs.
  • Polf
    Many thanks. Will look into it.
    Yeti SB95
    Nukeproof Mega AM 275
    On One 456C