Upgrades

Mac418s
Mac418s Posts: 12
edited November 2012 in Road beginners
I am new to cycling ( aug this year)and at the moment enjoying going out on my bike. I recently entered the exmoor beast and have a number of sportives already booked for next year. Already discovering that I cannot climb hills at all and struggling to keep up with friends on other road racing bikes on the flat. ( i have swapped bikes and on a flitish route found it very easy to maintain a pace they found difficult on my bike) i own a tricross elite 2012 model, recently changed the tyres to a 700-23 from the 32 that came with the bike. My question is would it be worth while/possible to change the rear cassette to a SRAM 11-32 and front to a ultegra 52-39-30. And would that help with both top end speed and climbing easier?

I purchased the tricross as I wanted a all rounder bike and still think this is the best bike I could have chosen with the budget I had.
With regards to my first 100km ride it took 6hrs10min for me to complete the exmoor beast and completed it with out getting off my bike to push.

Comments

• Bobbinogs
    Bobbinogs Posts: 4,841
    I figure that your current gearing is standard for that model so will be Tiagra 10 speed with a 50/39/30 triple and 12-30T cassette. This is a big range of gears and more than capable of propelling you quickly.

So, the best upgrade you can make is...to ride your bike. Keep your money in your pocket as you have already made the best change (tyres, that is...but make sure you have a nice set that is also ready for the winter, search around for some options but you may find that 25s are just as fast as the 23s and some say faster!).
  • ForumNewbie
    ForumNewbie Posts: 1,664