Going back to driving

helz
helz Posts: 406
edited November 2012 in Commuting chat
I've just bought a car after not having driven at all for about 5 years. I'm still going to be using my bike for most journeys but my fiancé's kids live 140 miles away. We go and see them at weekends, so I thought it best to get a car.

I'm just wondering how easy other cyclists have found driving after not having driven for several years? I'm a little bit nervous about it. So far I've only driven the car about a mile (home from the dealer via the petrol station!) and it felt really weird to be manouvering something so wide when I'm so used to nipping around on a bike, but hopefully I'll get used to it. Do you think my daily bike ride to work in Central London (which I've been doing since 2005) will have made me a better driver or a worse one, or will it not make any difference? Any advice?
*´¨)
`.·´ .·*´¨) ¸.·*¨)
(¸.·´ (¸.·´
Power to the pedal

Comments

• Cafewanda
    Cafewanda Posts: 2,788
    You could always have a 'refresher' lesson with the other half in the passenger seat as the instructor? I'm assuming the other half is also a driver.
  • helz
    Unfortunately not! He just rides a motorbike.
    *´¨)
    `.·´ .·*´¨) ¸.·*¨)
    (¸.·´ (¸.·´
    Power to the pedal
  • daddy0
    daddy0 Posts: 686
    I went without car for about 5 years. I remember the apprehension but was worried about nothing. As long as you go for a drive when its a bit quiet, and preferably daytime, you'll be fine. It all comes back very quickly, its like riding a bike ;-)
  • cornerblock
    cornerblock Posts: 3,228
    You are bound to be a little nervy to begin with but once the rustiness, so to speak, of not having driven for 5 years wears off you'll be fine. If anything I'd say cycling makes you a better driver, I know that as a cyclist when I do drive I probably use my mirrors more than a driver who doesn't ride.

Don't worry, driving a car, it's like..er..... riding a bike! :?*