Post Ride Maintenance

crooky13
crooky13 Posts: 5
edited November 2012 in Road beginners
Hi all

Have just taken the plunge and bought myself a carbon road bike. Really grateful for some advice on how to keep my new pride and joy in tip top condition. As am a total beginner to all things bike related - any advice (esp. using layman's terms) would be most appreciated. Main concern is what to do when the bike gets wet and dirty.

Thanks and hope this isn't a duplicate post!

Comments

• The first rule of bike cleaning is this: If you can bring yourself to maintain it straight after a ride, you definitely didn't work hard enough. ;)

Just keep it clean and lubricated; there's not a lot to it. A bike wash is the obvious product for the washing, but you can use car shampoo as well. A dedicated degreaser is best for the chain; don't use white spirit as it may remain on the inner surfaces and impair the effectiveness of the lubricant you use. After administering the degreaser, attack chain and sprockets with a stiff brush. Make sure that your brake pivots are clean too; some people use GT-85 for this. Having done all that, lubricate chain, and a drop on derailleur and brake pivots and cable ends doesn't go amiss.

That's really all there is to it. You don't need to smother it in solvents or wrap it in cotton wool. It's not going to melt! With that said, you might have seen mechanics at pro races pressure washing bikes; this isn't a good idea. :)
  • TakeTurns
    TakeTurns Posts: 1,075
    I occasionally wipe the frame down with a wet cloth. Carbon does not react with water unlike other frames such as alloy or steel. So don't worry about riding it in the winter/wet.