Road Bike Tyres

prando
prando Posts: 47
edited November 2012 in Road beginners
A beginners question.

I'm a newbie, aged 62, with my 1st road bike. A Carrera Virtuosa, circa £350. Doing circa 80 miles per week weather permitting. ( bad weather = rain = gym )

Now, all the reviews say it's a great entry bike but upgrade the tyres asap ? Help.

1) Why ?

2) Upgrade to what ?

3) Similar comments made with the saddle. Again why, and to what ?

Remember I'm a newbie, so I need some simple advice.

Comments

• alihisgreat
    alihisgreat Posts: 3,872
    edited November 2012
    Better tyres offer more grip, a better ride, and better puncture protection (and yes all three should be possible with an expensive enough tyre.. considering you're coming from an entry level tyre.)

I'm a big fan of continental tyres -> I'm currently still running GP4000s tyres which have been superb over the last 500 miles or so and are my choice of late spring-> summer -> early autumn tyre.

I'm considering switching to the the GP4Seasons or Gatorskins for proper winter riding though.

You want to look at weight, rubber compound on the tread, and sidewall construction.

Weight -> less rotating weight is better, but there is a trade-off with puncture protection.
    Rubber compound -> different compounds for different purposes -> Softer for more grip, harder for more longevity, specific compounds for cold weather grip.
    Sidewall construction -> More supple and flexible sidewalls offer a better ride in terms of comfort, handling, and rolling resistance. A trade-off with puncture protection.
  • lc1981
    lc1981 Posts: 820