Finally conquered my nemesis.

Bustacapp
Bustacapp Posts: 971
edited November 2012 in Road beginners
Shaley Brow, a very steep road that straddles Billinge Hill, has been impossible for me to finish without getting off and pushing. Until now!! (well, a couple of weeks ago actually). After plugging away at it week after week I have finally conquered the beast!! I have now completed the hill from bottom to top 4 times and the most recent time (last Sunday) I did it all the way seated. When I started riding a few weeks ago, I weighed in at 120kg. I must be about 110kg now. The hill features in a 10 mile loop I do from my house (which was in additioon to another weekly, longer and flatter ride) which will now be the only riding I will be doing over winter. The loop consists of the climb, and a sprint, so I feel it is quite short, sweet and instense enough to maintain a decent level of fitness until next season. As long as I can continue to breach the hill over winter I will be happy.

Cheers! Just thought I'd share. Here is the hill, it says it's a cat 4 climb but most other cyclists I know reckon that it's steeper than that.

http://app.strava.com/segments/705525

Comments

• mr_poll
    mr_poll Posts: 1,547
    Well done Shaley is a tough one. When I started my nemesis was Parbold Hill (the tough side) great when you finally get up and over without stopping.

Once you get the miles and confidence up try Harry Middleton CC - guessing it is local to you. V friendly club with groups of all abilities.
  • Well done! Isn't it great when you feel you're progressing? That's an awful lot of weight to lose in such a short time too! You must be feeling great!

I've enjoyed a small weight loss and a noticeable increase in my ability to get up the hills. There is one I need to go back to and see if I can get up it... but I might wait till the weather improves. And I still want to get my mileage up some more, but it's all a bit harder now the weather's not so good :?
  • elderone