What frame?

JMcP92
JMcP92 Posts: 339
edited November 2012 in MTB buying advice
Hello folks!

I recently bought myself a shiny new Norco, been very happy with it, loved the thing. Until it got stolen while chained up outside uni in the middle of the day, by a busy road, where there are always folk with the lock cut and..... I could rant for hours, very disappointed but lets be honest, the police never retrieve these things. As much as it angers me they have bigger fish to fry, so, lets move on.

I'm now in the market for a new bike but I'm a student, I don't have the money to buy something as much as I'd like, so as it's now winter, I'm looking at getting a frame and building from there.
I'm wanting something pretty solid, so I've been recommended Norco, Orange or Specialized, but more than willing to look outwith that. I'm needing something hardtail, but is a go anywhere type of thing. I did find a cheap Nukeproof snap, but given the low seat and it's made for jumping mainly, not the best town bike.
Anyway, I am willing to go second hand for frames, and willing to look at most things. Budget looking around £200-£300 and hoping to find myself a bargin in there, but I can't tell.

Anyone can help I much appreciate it.

Ta.
John.

Comments

• supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    Building up from frame only will cost more than just getting a bike. I'd be tempted to save for something like this:

http://www.merlincycles.com/bike-shop/b ... -bike.html

The frame alone costs £300!
  • paul.skibum
    paul.skibum Posts: 4,068
    ebay. I don't see how your money will stretch to a build unless you go second hand and as cheap as you can - it will take a while though. As SS says you'd be best going complete bike and finding a little more money. Oh and getting some insurance.
    Closet jockey wheel pimp whore.
  • JMcP92