Question regarding rotors and disc brakes

Vacancy
Vacancy Posts: 5
edited November 2012 in MTB workshop & tech
Hey, all! Newbie here. I've recently acquired myself a job, and with my first salary I'm looking to upgrade my bike. I've done a fair bit of research on the best parts, where to get them and I've just been looking at hydraulic brakes and some information regarding rotors. The website I was looking at states that for every extra 20mm you have in your rotors, it will equate to around 15-20% extra stopping power. I currently have a GT Aggressor XC1 with Avid Juicy Three's, I'm looking to stick some Hope Tech M4's on it. Will I be able to upgrade the size of my discs? The rear one is 160mm, and the front is 180mm. Would I be able to put a 180mm on the rear bracket and a 200mm on the front bracket? Or will I need to stick to 160/180mm discs? Thanks for taking the time to read this and I look forward to seeing some useful replies :)

Comments

• supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    You would new new mounting brackets. Hope Tech M4s are heavy and expensive, better for less.
  • How do I go about choosing mounting brackets? They all look like they have strange screwholes, and if I was to try and attach some of those to my bike I would end up with brakes on at 90 degree angles.. What brakes would you recommend? The reason I chose the Tech M4s was because they have a lot of stopping power, I'm looking for something that can stop me dead in my tracks on a huge decline, if you could be of assistance; that is.

Edit: I know that I'm definitely going to have to go for Floating Rotors, as my stock disc warped a little on the front wheel. :(
  • supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    Find out what type of mounts are on your fork and frame - then get the adaptor to suit that mount and the size of rotor you want to use. The mounts are either IS or PM, most brakes nowadays are PM.

is_pm.png