Cost per mile

Comments

• daveski12
    daveski12 Posts: 158
    Just done a quick calculation (based on what I can remember buying, and I am a beginner so have bought lots of stuff recently) including the cost of my bike and including 11 PPM on food I come out at 38PPM over 2652 miles.
  • alan_sherman
    alan_sherman Posts: 1,157
    I'm still using the bike I bought in 1992. There have been some new parts but it has by most depreciation measures hit zero value. That is good, it is only the consumables (tyres, chains, brake blocks, handlebar tape, tyres, tubes) plus clothing and recharging the battery for the rear blinky (front is a dynamo).
  • veronese68
    veronese68 Posts: 27,329
    When I started riding to work recently I started eating an extra sandwich every day. Bought from the sandwich wagon that pulls up in the car park that would cost £12.50 a week.
    Prior to that I used to ride a motorbike. Petrol was costing about £12 a week. So it was roughly break even on fuel costs. Or, it would be if my wife didn't make my sarnies.
  • 6654henry
    6654henry Posts: 105
    Difference in attitude after cycling to work rather than public transport or vehicle? Priceless.

:D
  • daviesee
    daviesee Posts: 6,386
    6654henry wrote:
    Difference in attitude after cycling to work rather than public transport or vehicle? Priceless.

:D
    * infinity
    None of the above should be taken seriously, and certainly not personally.
  • godders1
    godders1 Posts: 750
    wyadvd wrote:
    rubertoe wrote:
    Do Drivers not eat?
    They do but the average male driver who commutes 20 miles a day needs to eat 2200 calories to cover their base metabolic rate plus the calories required to sit at a computer all day. A cyclist uses at least an extra 1000+ kcals on top of this base calories. Cycling uses 50 calories per mile roughly over and above base metabolic rate.