Garmin 800 for Christmas or wait?

Rulebritania
Rulebritania Posts: 209
edited December 2012 in Road general
I have been trying to find an android app that will assist me navigate a course, but it seems technology has not caught up with the what I believe to be the best device on the market Garmin 800. I've trailed the forums read plenty of stuff about similar devices but it boils down to you get what you pay for.

I am wondering however if anyone on the grapevine has heard about any challengers in the first 1/4 of 2013 which will have a go at the Garm

This site tested the 800 in Feb 11 therefore I imagine that something else must come onto the market soon. But will it as the 7 series Garmin was tested in 08?

Any thoughts?
Don't call me sir I work for a living

Comments

• I'm in the same boat. It makes you think should I buy the 800 around Christmas is a new model just round the corner?

The fact the 800 is on sale on most online stores does suggest new models are on the way??
  • bowden769
    bowden769 Posts: 143
    Have u tried motion x app wise. It's very good
  • bowden769 wrote:
    Have u tried motion x app wise. It's very good

Nope is it on android and have you tried it? Does it let you plan a route
  • Secteur
    Secteur Posts: 1,971
    I doubt the 800 will be replaced soon - it does everything, perfectly.
  • paulg99
    paulg99 Posts: 55
    The thing with tech is that if you keep holding on for the next and greatest iteration of something you will never buy anything.

If the Garmin 800 does what you want and you can afford it, find the best current price and buy it.

If you must have the next one out, just sell the 800 and get it.
  • I know your right, I can get it with the trail bundle for £299 http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B0049XTHE4/

I not a gadget freak just want great value for money, although it comes at a cost i.e buy the wife some new earrings from Beaverbrooks will get the price all in for £600.