First ride - CAADX 6

img_87
img_87 Posts: 60
edited November 2012 in Road beginners
Evening everyone. This is my first post so be kind.

I have been talking about getting into road cycling for about 2 years and at around Easter i decided i was going to go for it. I spent a while looking into possible options and knowing that my employer ran a Cycle Scheme was a bonus. I then spent some time looking at what kind of bike i wanted. The Girlfriend was just getting into cycling after some encouragement from her dad so we went on a few rides to see how we enjoyed cycling together. It was good. So i did a bit of research and came to the conclusion that i wanted to buy a cyclocross bike.

A few weeks ago i was pointed towards the Cannondale CAADX 6 in Evans as they had just reduced the 2012 model. I made a few calls and went to have a look. I loved it. It was exactly what i was after.

So, thursday gone, i picked it up and brought it home. We have recently moved house (somewhere a bit more in the countryside) and i was looking forward to getting out and about.

This morning i took it out for a little test ride. I only did 8 miles but climbed over 600 feet. I hadn't realised i had moved somewhere so hilly.

The bike was fantastic though. My first time on the drops and it took me a mile or so to get into it but i absolutely loved it. It felt so nimble and light. Now i just need to work on my ability and we will be flying.

Anyway, for anyone that wants to see it...

8109569814_5751a57f5c.jpg
Untitled by IMGPhotography, on Flickr

8109570436_1b3c1372f4.jpg
Untitled by IMGPhotography, on Flickr

PS. I only got overtaken once :D

Comments

• Good for you. I just started too loved my first run.

Nice to see a helmet there too.

Seen so may cyclists out on the road not wearing one.

Idiotic in my opinion.
  • elderone
    elderone Posts: 1,410
    nice looking bike,very smart.keep going and you will get more and more hooked for sure.
    Dulce et decorum est Pro patria mori