Padded shorts

Peddle Up!
Peddle Up! Posts: 2,040
edited October 2012 in Road beginners
I've just about crushed the padding in my current Altura padded shorts (good value/comfort by the way) and I'm looking to the next pair. What's the current view on comfy wear?
Purveyor of "up" :)

Comments

• alihisgreat
    alihisgreat Posts: 3,872
    Endura FS260 Pro
    DHB Aeron Pro

They'r my choices at ~£60 each.
  • TakeTurns
    TakeTurns Posts: 1,075
    May I ask, how many hours or miles do you reckon it took you before they wore out?

I'm currently using a pair of Enduro Pro shorts. They're club specific so that's as much info I can get. However I've done about 3000~miles so far on them and the padding is 40% worn I'd say.
  • +1 for DHB Aeron bib
    Don't call me sir I work for a living
  • Bobbinogs
    Bobbinogs Posts: 4,841
    A lot depends on price and a subjective view of comfort/value, methinks. My wife bought some of the dhb aerons and they are very good, and the price is even better. Me? Well, I have some Castelli FARs and a pair of Body Paint 2.0s and they are just freaking brilliant, IMO. Then again, I have some old Altura progel bibs and I use them for the turbo, etc., nought wrong with them for the price point, although they are very spongy and I wouldn't want to do a 225k on them. You pays your money and you takes your choice :)
  • jay197
    jay197 Posts: 196
    I have found that the with the DHB pads the "pro" pad is much better quality than the "aero" pad. so look at the description carefully to see which type of pad the DHB bib has fitted. And the "pro" pad is little bit thicker, which is nice for longer rides :)
  • kentphil
    kentphil Posts: 479
    +1 Endura FS260 pro shorts
    1998 Kona Cindercone in singlespeed commute spec
    2013 Cannondale Caadx 1x10
    2004 Giant TCR
  • sandian
    sandian Posts: 68
    Castelli's take some beating imo!
  • jonomc4
    jonomc4 Posts: 891