Advice for a complete beginner wanting to get into cycling

Talise
Talise Posts: 3
edited October 2012 in Road beginners
I am a 17 year old girl who would like to get into road cycling and go as fast as I can. I currently do a lot of sport, training nine times a week (running, weights and other cardio) and my coach suggested that I try road racing, yet I know very little about how to get involved, so advice would be very much appreciated!

I am unsure of the best way to become involved in the sport. The obvious thing to do seems to be to join a club but I don't know if there would be any girls my age there, and if, at least at first, I would be able to keep up on rides. The majority of junior stuff seems to be done indoors - is that an accurate reflection of how it works? Would it be a good idea to do some sportives and other rides, and how do I go about trying to get into racing (time trials, road races etc) - are there any races with other people my age? If I do go down the club route, how does it work as you get better and progress up the ranks?

Obviously as a complete novice I'm aware it will be a long time before I am competent enough to go fast, but any advice on how to go about getting started would be hugely appreciated - thanks in advance for any help.

Comments

• I would look at the British Cycling web site (http://www.britishcycling.org.uk/) to start to understand the wider events. Then seek out (they are listed) the biggest local club you can find as they will have proportionally more women riders.

One thing that might help is to get in touch with a women's team they would be only to willing to give you advice etc. For example Geoff Butler sponsors a ladies team. So you could contact them to discuss the best way to get started:

http://www.teamgbcycles.co.uk/
  • leshere
    leshere Posts: 38