Hill climbing

oldwasp
oldwasp Posts: 27
edited November 2012 in Road beginners
Hi,
I am new to road cycling (4 months) and have just bought a second hand bike. I do not do a lot of steep hill climbing but there is a category 3 climb called Carlton bank which has parts over 20% and one section over 30%. I did not make it to the top on my bike no matter how hard i tried I just did not have the power in my legs. I know 4 months is not long to be cycling but I also play other sports so I consider myself fairly fit.
What I would like to know would I be better changing my setup to a compact or staying with what I've got since I will very rarely climb hills that steep.
Cassette: Shimano 105 10sp, 11-27,
Chain: Mavic 10sp,
Chainset: Shimano 105 double, 172.5 53/39, 5700,

Also, it would be good to know, would it be possible for me to eventually crack that hill with a lot more miles under my belt with the set up I have.

Thanks

Comments

• smidsy
    smidsy Posts: 5,273
    Using a standard double is certainly not making it easy.

A compact 50/34 will definitely help and with 34/27 that you will then have you should be able to tackle most things.

Obviously the more hills (and cycling in general) you do will also help but despite what some may say on here there will not be many who can do 20% plus climbs with a standard double.
    Yellow is the new Black.
  • Buckled_Rims
    Buckled_Rims Posts: 1,648
    Go for a compact chainset 50/34. It will "help" to some extent, but the most important number IMO is your weight. To conquer hills the real asset is less weight, and by that I mean your body weight! No matter how much you pay for a bike's lightness, the rider who is overweight will struggle.

Aim for a 10-10-10% - 10% less weight, 10% more strength and 10% more endurance and then see the improvements.

I know Carlton bank in Yorkshire and it's a B*tard even for fit riders :wink:
    CAAD9
    Kona Jake the Snake
    Merlin Malt 4
  • oldwasp