120mm or 150mm travel?

tudj
tudj Posts: 254
edited October 2012 in MTB buying advice
I've been riding for a few months now on a Giant hardtail. I've decided to buy a full sus and I'm looking at the Canyon bikes. I can't decide which would suit me better, the Nerve AL 8 with 120mm front and rear travel or the Nerve AL 8+ with 150mm front and rear.

I do a mix of riding, mostly XC but will also be doing trail centers soon too.

After asking the opinion of a few people I seem to be getting 2 responses:

1. The higher travel will be much better for trail centres and the rides with big/rough descents and drops etc

2. The lower travel is plenty but might bottom on on the bigger stuff.

I'd be happy with 120mm if that is enough, I just don't want to spend the money to find I wish I'd gone for the higher travel.

Can anyone offer any advice/pointers?

Cheers

Comments

• felix.london
    felix.london Posts: 4,067
    I'm not a UK-based rider but I'm sure 120mm at both ends is plenty travel for the majority of UK trail centres.

I'm riding a 120mm hardtail in the French Alps and loving it! I'll eat up that travel a fair few times on each ride but at least I'm using it all :wink: And I'm riding some pretty gnarly sh1t over here. Every descent is pretty much a full on natural DH track

And if you do come across some more gnarly terrain than your average trail centre - I'm convinced not being able just to steamroller everything makes you a better rider in the long-run. Saying all that, if you've got aspirations of riding some proper DH on the bike (regularly at some stage) then I'd go for the 150mm option
    "Why have that extra tooth if you're not using it?" - Brian Lopes

Votec V.SX Enduro 'Alpine Thug' 2012/2013 build

Trek Session 8
  • .blitz
    .blitz Posts: 6,197
    1. The higher travel will be much better for trail centres and the rides with big/rough descents and drops etc
    2. The lower travel is plenty but might bottom on on the bigger stuff.