Cytech training

damonlock
damonlock Posts: 170
edited October 2012 in MTB general
Hi guys a friend of mine has started a bike shop and I am working there helping to run it and fixing bikes, I would like to get some training and was looking at the cytech courses and wondered if anyone here has done them and what your thoughts on course are? I've always worked on my own bikes form a young age and built a few bikes from scratch and helped many friends with theirs so I feel I have some knowledge but would like to expand it and have something the public can recognise as experience and knowledge in the field

Cheers

Damon

Comments

• supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    Mainly a waste of money. Nothing that you cannot learn in the shop you are in and online.
  • damonlock
    I do agree with the online as I've watched so many vids of the years of how to do stuff plus read the parktool big blue book a few times over!
  • Cytech training is very very expensive hundreds of pounds!
    cosna kick a bo agen a wo and ed it back till it bos-UP HANLEY ME DUCK

NO STAIRWAY....DENIED!

D.Leyland
    Current Bike-TREK 4500
    Previous Bikes
    :Giant Roam 3
    :Bianchi Nirone 7
  • damonlock
    Even thousands I'm waiting for them to get back with fade prices!!!
  • The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    The level 2 course is £1250ish plus VAT inc exam, exam only is £400 ish. They had a stand at the cycle show.
    Currently riding a Whyte T130C, X0 drivetrain, Magura Trail brakes converted to mixed wheel size (homebuilt wheels) with 140mm Fox 34 Rhythm and RP23 suspension. 12.2Kg.
  • dmorton
    dmorton Posts: 244
    Any alternatives to Cytech?

Practical courses do have some merit as someone could show you a way of doing something in a better/easier way. Also somethings go on feel, such as how tight do you do up hub cup and cone bearings? You can't get that from a video or book. Suppose you just try it yourself though, you'd soon find out if they were too tight