Do I need a new saddle, or do I need to just man up?

joeyyeahyeah
joeyyeahyeah Posts: 16
edited October 2012 in MTB beginners
Hey up,

Just got my first bike (a cube ltd pro that I'm really loving so far). I'm finding the Selle Italia Saddle a bit hard on the old behind. As I said, I'm new to mountain biking, so I'm not sure whether I need a different saddle, or whether my rear is just acclimatising to life of getting battered (ahem!).

The terrain I've been riding is not particularly challenging, but is bumpy in patches and boggy at the moment. The reason I question whether a new saddle will help is because the discomfort I'm experiencing seems to be on the sit bones, not between them. So, is this something I just have to bear for a while? The last ride I went on I found myself resting my weight on my pedals to ease my weight on the saddle- that doesn't seem right somehow...

This is my first post (woo-hoo! It's great to be here), so I thank you for your help and advice on this, er... delicate subject :? ;-)

Cheers Folks

Joe

Comments

• cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    MTFU - you butt will toughen up.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    Your but will take a few rides to harden up, as long as it's just 2 'tender' spots on your sit bones and your not rubbing up sores....

If I'm off my bike for a few weeks my butt hurts a little after the first 2/3 rides back.
    Currently riding a Whyte T130C, X0 drivetrain, Magura Trail brakes converted to mixed wheel size (homebuilt wheels) with 140mm Fox 34 Rhythm and RP23 suspension. 12.2Kg.
  • benpinnick
    benpinnick Posts: 4,148
    If its one of those RFR Cube saddles that are kind of diamond shaped.... stick it in the bin and buy a new one. Not worth the faux leather they are made from.
    A Flock of Birds
    + some other bikes.
  • Alibran
    Alibran Posts: 370