Racked up just over 30 miles today

Superbalicious
Superbalicious Posts: 136
edited October 2012 in Road beginners
Porridge for breakfast, check
High5 energy drink in the cage, check
Garmin programmed and ready to go, check

Over the last few weeks I've been riding the same 15 mile route to see if I can slowly beat the virtual partner on my Garmin. Today however I wanted something different. I normally have ideas as to where I'd like to ride, look at a map the night before and by the time I get out on the bike I've forgotten where I was heading and ride the same old roads. Hence the reason I bought the Garmin. I programmed a 30 mile route and put it to the test today.

I tend to ride on my own and I'm not very good at pacing myself, so today I left the maps on display and didn't look at speed or heart rate once... I completed 31.5 miles in a shade over 2 hours. It was the most pleasant ride I've been on in ages. Using the maps on the garmin was great, approaching junctions gave a countdown in meters and seconds.

There were a few climbs, I'm sure nothing major for most, but I struggle with stamina so I just took it steady and could quite happily carry on once I'd reach the 'summit'. I had planned to stop just after half way, but I felt good and just kept racking up the miles. I must have seen about 60 other cyclists, solos, couples and one group with about 30 riders... Might have to try that one day!

Back home and I'd averaged 15.2mph which I'm pleased with (my average over my 15 mile run is just under 17mph). I felt good too. Not sure whether the energy drink helped, or whether it was just the enjoyment of the ride, but I'm feeling quite pleased this evening and wondering what route to plan next.

Here's to the next run...!
Still trying to convince the missus of the n+1 rule...!

Comments