First 100 mile run, Feel good

jagx400
jagx400 Posts: 132
edited October 2012 in Road general
Well I did it, 106 miles. First 50 miles had some nasty hills, but the second bit was flat. Last 20 miles was a bit of an effort but I did it and am well chuffed.

http://ridewithgps.com/trips/972854

Comments

• Well done!

I'm a beginner hoping to be able to say the same thing next August - 100 miles sounds like a hell of a long way, and a real achievement.
    Is the gorilla tired yet?
  • Gizmodo
    Gizmodo Posts: 1,928
    Well done. Do you now have a well deserved holiday in Skeggy? Did you do it for anything I particular, charity for example?
  • jagx400
    Did it for the Midlands Air Ambulance and for the personal achievement. Didn't fancy staying too long in Skeggy, it was full of fat chavs in track suits playing slot machines :D . Not my idea of a holiday.
  • jagx400
    Well done!

I'm a beginner hoping to be able to say the same thing next August - 100 miles sounds like a hell of a long way, and a real achievement.

I started gradually this time last year and the thought of anything over 5 miles was a dream, but stick with it and all comes together. I have gone from a fat oaf at 18st 6lb to 15st 3lb since March and am happy at this weight. My fitness has gone through the roof, I regularly cycle 50 plus miles and cycle to work every day. Cholesterol has gone from 7.1 down to 3.9. Who would have though a few miles on a bike could be so good for you.
  • Doing my first 100 in a couple of weeks. Slightly bricking it but going with a couple of good riders who will hopefully pull me through.

Congratulations - I can imagine it's a pretty terrific feeling to know you've done it :):)
  • Hopefully I'll be joining the 100 mile club someday soon. Trying to build it up slowly with one of my latest rides being about 35.

Congrats
  • jagx400