Correct muscles to use for correct pedal stroke/position?

nolight
nolight Posts: 261
edited October 2012 in Road beginners
Right now I am trying to make sure my pedal stroke/saddle position is in the optimum position for efficiency.

Recently I just moved my seat higher which helps me to extend my legs a bit more and I feel more efficient.

However, right now I am using more calf muscles when pedaling (I am not using clipless pedals). I was expecting the pedal stroke to balance out the calf and quadriceps, but right now I am feeling my calf muscles work more.

Is this normal or suggest I need to move the saddle? What are the effects of moving the saddle too forward or too back, as I am not experienced in moving saddle in these directions. Saddle height seems ok I thought.

Comments

• marz
    marz Posts: 130
    It's the quads that provide most of the power with the calf providing a strong link to your pedals. Are you riding a lot of hills?

How high do you have you seat? The general rule of thumb is to set the saddle to where you can rest your heel on your pedal with a straight leg. Any higher and you may find your hips rocking from side to side to keep your feet on the pedals.

Saddle position fore and back affects your position of the handle bars. If you feeling stretched out reaching for the bars, maybe slide the saddle forward. Or if you feel too hunched and close to the bars, slide the saddle back a bit.
  • bahzob
    bahzob Posts: 2,195
    If you intend to spend any significant time at all on a bike getting a proper bike fit is the single best value for money investment you will ever make and will most likely save you money in terms of not buying the wrong equipment and getting the most out of what you already have.

So get a bike fit first. Then get some clips for your pedals. They make a big difference.