Deore shifter only shifts up when pressing slowly

ZeeSaffa
ZeeSaffa Posts: 68
edited November 2012 in MTB workshop & tech
Hi,

I am a newbie when it comes to most things tech on a bike - so apologies if this is a stupid question.

The front Deore (SL-M570) shifter doesn't take if I press it quickly.
If I press it REALLY slowly however - it takes perfectly every time.

I bought my bike 2nd hand a year or so back - but haven't ridden it much until lately so don't know when this started to happen... or if it was even doing it when I bought it.

Do I need to replace it - or can it be fixed?

Thanks!!

Comments

• Chunkers1980
    Chunkers1980 Posts: 8,035
    If it doesn't work properly then it is toast.
  • supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    My XT does this - is a worn ratchet. New shifter time.
  • mister p
    mister p Posts: 405
    You can sometimes prolong the life of a worn shifter by giving it a damn good spraying through with cleaner and putting some thin lube in there. But it is only a temporary fix and sooner or later the lever will need replacing. Worth having a go first before consigning it to the bin.
  • benpinnick
    benpinnick Posts: 4,148
    Could be crud in the ratchet. Worth taking apart and cleaning first.
    A Flock of Birds
    + some other bikes.
  • The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    ^^^ what he said, open it, check for crud and give it a clean and light lube first, crud on the pawl pivot can cause this as well.
    Currently riding a Whyte T130C, X0 drivetrain, Magura Trail brakes converted to mixed wheel size (homebuilt wheels) with 140mm Fox 34 Rhythm and RP23 suspension. 12.2Kg.
  • Thanks all!
    I'll definitely try giving it a good clean.

If I need to replace them - can you guys recommend shifters that are in the same price / value bracket?
    Looks like these specific ones have been discontinued...
  • The Rookie