Don't do this to me!!

Smalls
Smalls Posts: 7
edited October 2012 in Road beginners
Hi all first time as op so please be nice.

At the front end of the year a good friend of mine roped me in to comiting to ride from St Albans Hertfordshire to Marbella Spain (ride to portsmouth, ferry to Santander, ride straight down to Marbs. aprox 90 miles per day for 9 days riding) I am completely new to road biking so at the end of April I bought a bike and all the gear and got stuck in to some training. It all has been going well apart from some knee pain when I first started but with some minor adjustment to cleats and set up it vanished and I have been feeling great.

What started out as an idea over a few drinks has turned into a full blown charity ride and our fundraising is currently at £20k with a week to go until we leave. Last week I put my bike in for a service to make sure it's in tip top condition new pads, new chain and cassette go out on Sunday for our last longish run before we go and BAM left knee is screaming at me after about 60 miles!!! Training has been great I feel great we are a week away and this happens. Nothing has changed with my set up only a new chain, this wouldn't cause it would it??!! I'm stumped and pissed off. I went out today for 25 to see how it would feel and I could feel it coming on after only a few miles.

Going to see a physio tomorrow to try and magic me a knew knee, wish me luck ;0)

Smally

Comments

• LankyDJ
    LankyDJ Posts: 44
    Hey smaller, Is the pain running down the side of your knee?
  • Smalls
    That's exactly where it is!!
  • Probably seat height. Had the same thing, pain on the outside at the 20 mile mark every time. Lowered the seatpost quite a bit and hey presto, its gone.

Turns out i was overflexing the leg hence the pain would come on.
  • LankyDJ
    LankyDJ Posts: 44