How much to buy extra for a complete beginner?

omarm
omarm Posts: 73
edited October 2012 in MTB buying advice
Me: complete beginner
About to buy a Rockrider 5.2 (if they have stock)
I've read the beginners guide on this site - really useful

For the 'other' things I need to get, can someone give a very rough guestimate of how much extra I need to budget for?

This will help my thinking

Thanks

Omar

Comments

• Chunkers1980
    Chunkers1980 Posts: 8,035
    £10 for a helmet, £3 puncture kit, £5 pump, the rest you should have.
  • The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    Depends where/how you intend to ride....

I carry enough to fix a chain, also spare tubes as doing a puncture trail side is a real PITA.
    Currently riding a Whyte T130C, X0 drivetrain, Magura Trail brakes converted to mixed wheel size (homebuilt wheels) with 140mm Fox 34 Rhythm and RP23 suspension. 12.2Kg.
  • omarm
    >> £10 for a helmet, £3 puncture kit, £5 pump
    ok, sounds good
    question: is a pump from the pound shop a good or bad idea?
    Depends where/how you intend to ride....

I carry enough to fix a chain, also spare tubes as doing a puncture trail side is a real PITA.
    what do i need to fix a chain?
    how much do spare tubes cost? are these universal for all tyres? are there many different brands or combinations to choose from?

thanks
  • Chunkers1980
    Chunkers1980 Posts: 8,035
    is a pump from the pound shop a good or bad idea?

Dunno yet. Mine is in my bag and will be out when it's needed, but hasn't yet. But that's not my only pump.
  • chrisw333
    chrisw333 Posts: 695
    I think a pump from a £ shop is a pretty bad idea. You may get lucky but I've seen plenty of pumps that simply break or just don't work. I'd spend a few quid more - it's worth it when you get caught and need one.