My speed vs Club cyclist speed

MartAstur
MartAstur Posts: 122
edited October 2012 in Road beginners
I started riding about 5 weeks ago and am really enjoying it but feel I need to start setting some goals.
I ride on my own and whilst I can already see an improvement it would be nice to have something to aim at. I'm taking it easy to begin with but my aim is to become a competent rider able to keep up with the pack and able to tackle most routes.
With this in mind I would be interested to know what kind of averages a normal club run would reach? At the moment I am averaging about 25km on the straights and about 10km up 5% to 7% hills. I have a 20 year old hybrid bike that weighs nearly as much as a car which I am sure doesn't help up the hills but should have the new one up and running soon.
I'm not out to break any speed records but it would be nice to know what kind of averages I need to be aiming at to keep up with the pack should I ever join a club.
Any comments would be much appreciated :)

Comments

• Calpol
    Calpol Posts: 1,039
    Ride as often as you can through the winter, enjoy it and you will get fitter. then in the spring assess whether you still like it and want to get more serious. Forget about average speed and comparing yourself for now. If all is going well in the next few months you will be back posting on here asking for advice on which Road bike to buy and then you can start thinking about keeping up with the club run. Club run speed ranges from 14mph amble to 20mph chaingang.
  • briantrumpet
    briantrumpet Posts: 18,908
    edited October 2012