Intervals?

kathrynwhite
kathrynwhite Posts: 16
edited October 2012 in Road beginners
What are intervals? Should I be doing them to train? If so, how and when?

I've been into road cycling for just over a year now and this autumn/winter I'd like to build up my endurance so I can do more/longer sportives next year. The furthest I cycle at the moment is about 35 miles (I'm tired for about the last 4-5).

If I were to do intervals would I need special equipment/tech? At the moment I just have an average bike computer and I can't really afford a GPS/ heart rate monitor.

Last question: Would it be reasonable to expect to be able to do 50 miles in the next six months or so? Would interval training help with this?

Thanks for your help!

Comments

• Sprool
    Sprool Posts: 1,022
    Lots of training & interval info in the Road<training section:
    viewforum.php?f=40011
    I'm a newb at this, just bought some rollers which i'm really enjoying, and have a basic cycle computer, thinking of getting a heart rate monitor.
    Intervals are regular repeated periods of sustained effort then rest or cool down which build strength and stamina.
    I've been riding just a month and looking to tackle a 45 miler this weekend, a pretty unfit 49-year old with the chance to spend the last month training intensively. Its all about pacing yourself and taking along some energy bars and water. If you can do 35 now, you can do 50 in a month or two :)
  • Mikey41
    Mikey41 Posts: 690
    If I have got this right:

Intervals are short spells where you go flat out, as much power as you can put out. Then you ease off and let yourself recover for a few minutes, then go again.