Scary

pauldavid
pauldavid Posts: 392
edited October 2012 in Road beginners
I am fairly new to this cycling lark and particularly bad at climbing.

So yesterday planned a 40 mile route with a good amount of climbing in the hope that punishing myself up hills will make me slightly better at climbing at some point in the future.

Now the climb was painful,enjoyable,humiliating in equal measure but I made it and felt good about that at least.

Then came the scary bit, descending I managed to see 37mph on my Bryton and I know that most of you will have gone a lot quicker than that but it was the first time I have ever gone anything like that fast on a cycle and it would have gone a little quicker I think if I hadn't been scrubbing some speed off with the brakes.

I can honestly say that this is the most vulnerable I have ever felt in my life and was scared to bloody death, having said that I think I'm gonna do it again next Sunday :D

It almost made the pain worthwhile.

Am I the only one who feels this vulnerable or should I just MTFU

(incidentally I am an ex motorcyclist and an indicated 160mph on my GSXR didn't feel that scary!)

Comments

• I much prefer going up the hills than down for this very reason, especially when the roads are anything but bone dry! If I know the road is smooth, with a reasonable run-out and no side road junctions I feel a bit braver, but there's no harm with a bit of caution - just don't grab a handful of front brake in panic.

Number 64 of the rules is also relevant to descending:
    The Rules wrote:
    Rule #64 // Cornering confidence increases with time and experience.
    This pattern continues until it falls sharply and suddenly.
  • y33stu
    y33stu Posts: 376