Complete Newbi - Bike Advice

ajsnedz
ajsnedz Posts: 2
edited October 2012 in Road beginners
Hi Guys,

I hope you dont mind me posting on here, i have just joined as i am looking to buy my first road bike and i am completely lost. I have searched through the first 15-20 threads but no thread is as per my budgets etc so apologies for another new thread.

All i thought i had to do was pop down to my local halfords and collect one, however having googled a few reviews of their bikes i have quickly learnt to avoid halfords and take no cognisence of the "deals" and prices are inflated prior to sales.

My problem is i am not looking to spend a fortune on it as it is my first road bike and simply upgrading from my mountain bike to enjoy longer weekend cycles. I am looking to spead around £400 which is currently restricting me to halfords in terms of costs. I am currently looking at their Carrera Zelos (£599.99 reduced to £329.99) and the Carrera Virtuoso (£379.00). Are they as bad as everyone says or will these bikes/specifications suit for a first road bike. Also with the price range was a Claud Butler San Remo 2012 which go-outdoors are selling for £365.

Can anyone confirm if any of these bikes are worth buying for a first road bike at under £400 or point me in the direction? Or am i totally nieve at wanting a road bike for under £400?

Thanks in advance for any assistance/advice.

Alan

Comments

• Triban 3 if you can get it in your size - seems to get some pretty good reviews and is £299
    http://www.cyclingscotland.org/news/cyc ... -3-review/
    viewtopic.php?p=17113516
  • Unfortunately Halfords do sell cheap bikes to the sort of people that really do not ride and probably never will. This means that Halfords get tarred with a broad brush that says everything they sell is crap, this is not true!