Building First Single Speed

spamalot
spamalot Posts: 11
edited October 2012 in Road beginners
Hi All,

I've been cycling to work now for a couple of months on my Orange MTB (on slicks and rigid forks). I live in Cambridge and it's flat as a pancake so no need for gears, my bike stays in two or three gears all week. I'd like something with a bit more pace. I thought about building the ultimate rigid MTB, full carbon, xtr groupset... but only really because that's what I know.

Then I started looking a single speeds. The Bianchi Pista caught my eye. I think I'd like to have a go at building something similar so I can get it just how I wanted. But I'm not really sure where to start. I like everything to match, if I was building a MTB I'd go for full xt or xtr and not mix it. That may sound stupid because you can get better breaks for less, for example, matchings worth a lot to me though. How could I best achieve that on a single speed, I have no idea about road bikes/components?

Also looking at frames there seems to be a huge difference in weight and that doesn't really relate to price. What would you suggest? I like the look of the old style butted tubes over modern welded frames. I'm aware that you need the correct drop outs for a single speed.

Thanks

Comments

• Paul 8v
    Paul 8v Posts: 5,458
    If you get an old reynolds 531 frame with the horizontal campag dropouts it will work fine as a single speed as you can move the wheel forwards and back. They don't really do a full groupset for single speed but you could get a matching parts if for example you got an old campagnolo pista group and added retro (pre ergo) levers.

This will however cost a fortune, for mine I got a Campag double chainset (Mirage) and fitted single chainring bolts, fitted a Miche primato BB (Adjustable to get the chainline right) The brake levers were old ergopower ones where the shift mechanism had died, the guts were removed so there was a nice brake lever set.