Winter gear for newbie

Kingsmill1
Kingsmill1 Posts: 103
edited October 2012 in Road beginners
I'm quite new to this cycling lark and have only seriously got into it at the beginning of the summer I've only got summer gear at the moment and purchased some of summer 2012 stock from both wiggle and probikekit I'm only planning riding in the winter at the weekends when the weather is nice so wondering should I bother getting a whole load of winter gear.
This is what I've managed to acquire during the autumn
3 bib shorts 2 short sleeved tops one long sleeved one altura jacket arm warmers and leg warmers and some winter gloves.

I do try layering but usually find at the moment I'm putting on to many layers and coming home drenched I've taken the decision to avoid tights as I would want to have bib shorts for the spring summer ( when it comes back )

Any advice would be welcome I'm currently doing 9-10 miles 4-5 times a week I hope to try and maintain my fitness over the winter and then start doing longer distances once the spring is back
Giant TCR Comp 2
Specialized Allez Sport

Comments

• It sounds like you've got plenty to keep you warm enough but you're missing a decent base layer to keep you dry from sweat. I always wear a Sportful vest or tee then adjust outer layers depending on conditions ... for super cold days you could go for a proper merino layer to keep the chills out.
  • unixnerd
    unixnerd Posts: 2,864
    Get some Planet-X neoprene overshoes and a Sealskinz helmet liner (which also cover your ears and the back of your neck).
    http://www.strathspey.co.uk - Quality Binoculars at a Sensible Price.
    Specialized Roubaix SL3 Expert 2012, Cannondale CAAD5,
    Marin Mount Vision (1997), Edinburgh Country tourer, 3 cats!
  • Main things for me through the winter are...

Bare skin = not good. Get covered up and sheltered from icy cold winds.
    Hands and feet like to be warm and dry.
    Most of your head will still be exposed...a buff comes in handy.