6 months in and loving it!!

#david2012
#david2012 Posts: 275
edited October 2012 in Road beginners
I've found the forum really useful since I joined and have learnt so much from it Thankyou!
Many of us newbies look for reassurance from the other members asking about bikes etc which is quite natural when you come into a new sport and become fanatical about it :D
By day I'm a golf professional and I do exactly the same advising players about technique, is club x better than club y and they are desperate to buy equipment that possibly looks the part but isn't suitable. Often what I want like other newbies is to get opinions from your experience rather than just the knowledge.... I can read and read to gain knowledge but experience will only come with time in the saddle tweaking this and that until it feels good, but yet isn't that all part of the fun!
In may I got a hybrid, quickly got a cheap Dawes giro 400 which is now on the trainer for the winter, I've set myself a goal of 6 months training to then 'treat' myself in April ready for the spring /summer.
So my question would be my budget is around 1.5k I don't see the point of spending anymore as I will be only using the bike for fitness and the odd ride out with friends.
I really like the boardman comp or team and have cash to spare on bits or the defy 1 seems to get good comments and I can get that for around £800 again leaving plenty spare. Would I really notice the difference if I spend more?
I've lost 3 stone feel great and love road bikes!

Comments

• Mikey41
    Mikey41 Posts: 690
    Well, I bought my Giant for £620 (supposed to be £800) and while I immediately picked up some speed over my hybrid, if I was to go out and buy a £2000 carbon bike.... I would not go any faster than I do now. I would need to get my fitness and strength up a lot more yet before I would appreciate the "better" bike.