Giant Supply Problems

frosty99
frosty99 Posts: 115
edited October 2012 in Road general
Hi I've been waiting for a TCR composite 3 for over 6 weeks now. Heard today its been put back another 2 weeks, apparently Defy 1s are put back until Jan 2013. Anyone else having problems?

Comments

• yep wanted the defy 1 but was told xmas so bought defy 3 that my LBS had ordered in stock due to knowing of the short supply & a couple of models were available at the time, they have few models that they did that with :lol:
  • I work in a store and was looking at our supply dates for giants. good luck getting one this year, well done giant!
    MADONE 5.2
  • I just bought a 2012 Defy Composite 3 from the Twickenham store, and test rode it against a 2013 Defy 1 (Al frame, 54cm). They still have the Defy 1 I think if that's any help to anyone.

If it's any consolation, a bloke that worked in one of the stores I've been visiting recently told me that all the manufacturers are experiencing supply that struggles to keep up with demand - due to the Olympic effect. No idea how widespread it is in reality but I guess not surprising.
    Is the gorilla tired yet?
  • Slightly off subject, was told that a caad10 which has just been requested wont be available until April! Work that one out.
  • Monty Dog
    Monty Dog Posts: 20,614
    FWIW the bike industry works on a forecast demand at least 6 months in advance and dealers are awaiting 2013 stock- UK dealers simply couldn't have predicted the Bradley/Olympic effect and regretably the supply-chain for popular models and sizes has simply run dry. I expect if you looked beyond the big brands there's plenty of decent bikes out there.
    Make mine an Italian, with Campagnolo on the side..
  • I'm planning to buy a sportive bike in February. The Defty and Caad are high on my list.