Have I got my layers wrong?

CleeRider
CleeRider Posts: 304
edited October 2012 in Road beginners
Newbie here trying to get my clothing right. During the summer I was wearing a short sleeve jersey with nothing underneath.

When the temp dropped below 15 degrees it was too cold and I switched to this with no base layer:
http://www.wiggle.co.uk/dhb-long-sleeve ... ix-jersey/

It's felt a bit warm but easily solved by unzipping a fraction to get some air in.
Yesterday was 10 degrees and it was just right, no unzipping required - still no base layer.

However, although this jersey feels very comfortable during the ride, when I get back I find it's soaked inside with sweat and I am also quite wet too. The sweat goes un-noticed during the ride so it's not a big issue but I'm wondering if I should be wearing a short sleeved jersey and base layer in the temperature range 8-15, and then this long sleeve jersey plus long sleeve base layer when it's below 8 degrees?

Would a base layer under the long sleeve jersey mean I would come home dry?
I'm not wearing a base layer under it now because I'm thinking I'll be too hot. Is this correct?

Comments

• smidsy
    smidsy Posts: 5,273
    I personally use a base layer all the time (type varies depending on conditions) as I find they regulate my temperature better (or at least soak up some of the moisture).

The technical ones are designed to ''wick away' sweat whist also keeping you warm/cool.

I have vest type and long sleeved and these can be used to good effect with either short or long tops. e.g. I often wear a long sleeve base layer with a short sleeve jersey when the temperature is in between.

Experimentation was the only way I found what I needed when.

There are also high performace 'string vests' for really warm days :shock:
    Yellow is the new Black.
  • navrig
    navrig Posts: 1,352
    Everyone is different and you'll have to experiment.