Going clipless

Mark_Cookie
Mark_Cookie Posts: 3
edited October 2012 in MTB general
Hi,

I'm sure every clipless user has been here before, but I've only ever ridden with flats since I started riding a few years ago but I'm thinking of going clipless for a number of reasons:

I'm a spin instructor - and I use SPD's on the spin bikes, the power delivery is smoother and I'm getting less injuries as I can 'pull' and push

I'm mainly a XC rider I don't do any hardcore DH or all mountain style riding (in fact I'm pretty crap at anything too scary), so I'm never hitting massive drops and I want to exploit my good level of fitness

Finally - I'm shallow, and I look at my hardtail Boardman Comp and think it looks daft (please leave out the Halfords jokes) with flat V10 copys on it, despite the fact they're a nice grippy pedal

I really want to give them a go but I'm terrified of not being able to put a foot out to steady myself or falling off with a bike attached to my feet.

Anyone got any tips, hints, suggestions etc?

Thanks,
Mark

Comments

• styxd
    styxd Posts: 3,234
    Go for it. Cheap shimanos are good. Set the cleats loose, your feet will probably fall out when you fall off.

I agree, flat pedals look a bit naff on xc bikes.
  • elredso
    elredso Posts: 94
    i got a pair of the ones from the thread below - spd one side, flat on the other - perfect for me 80% off the time im clipped in, when it gets a bit techy / downhilly, i just ride on the flat side - takes a bit of getting used to (locating the correct side) but really is teh best of both worlds !

viewtopic.php?f=10002&t=12876392
  • tugger
    tugger Posts: 122
    advice: man up :lol:
    All about the aggregation of marginal gains (or marginal losses, depending on who you are!!)
  • WindyG
    WindyG Posts: 1,099