Club requirements?

Gabbo
Gabbo Posts: 864
edited October 2012 in Amateur race
Are there any requirements in particular you need to meet in order to join/race for a club? I'm relatively new to road cycling and thought whether I'd need to say complete x amount of miles in an x amount of time?

For the mean time, I'm just trying to clock up the mileage. Get some base work in before really attempting the more quality sessions (hill work/intervals etc).

Comments

• andyk19
    andyk19 Posts: 170
    It will depend on the club, the one I used to ride for had no requirements, but some may feel it best to ensure you have some experience before allowing you to ride for them.

It's a good idea to get comfortable riding in a group before trying your first race though, whether a club requires it or not, as I have seen people with no experience of riding in a group taking part in races and they're a risk to themselves and others. In my opinion this is the most important thing to be good at before taking part in a race.

I take it that you know that you'll need to get a BC race license and that you'll start as a category 4 racer to begin with?

Hope that helps.
  • markos1963
    markos1963 Posts: 3,724
    Clubs in general aren't pro teams and you don't get a contract to ride for them. Most are very happy if a member wants to race in their colours. Find yourself a club that is welcoming and has some racers of all abilities in it so you'll have people to go out and train with. It is VERY important to get used to close and fast group riding, you'll be in bunches when racing where inch's are big gaps. Now at the end of the season so most riders are at their fittest so don't be put off if they seem mega fast now, you'll have the winter to get used to the pace and group riding.
  • jibberjim
    jibberjim Posts: 2,810