New to road bikes.Which of these would you recommend please?

Ouninpohja75
Ouninpohja75 Posts: 10
edited September 2012 in Road beginners
Hello everyone,

As stated in the title I'm new to this road cycling,and would appreciate some advice on 2 bikes I'm looking at.

I have set myself a budget of £1300 and narrowed it down to 2 cycles,being the Boardman Road Team Carbon (£1300) and the Giant Defy Composite 2 2012 model (Reduced in my local shop to £1200).

What I would like to know is which of these 2 bikes would you all consider to be the better for the money regarding specification,frame and general build quality etc.?

Many thanks again for any help.

Comments

• Gizmodo
    Gizmodo Posts: 1,928
    The better one for you is the one that is fits your body shape. You don't want to buy a bike on spec alone. If you are going to start riding seriously you will be in the saddle for 4 to 8 hours at a time. You need to get on the bikes and test ride them, hopefully more than just around the car park.

Ask the shop if you can test ride them for at least a few hours, see which one fits you. If you still can't decide between them, then go for the one you like the look of better.

Having the best spec bike that you get a bad back riding after 30 minutes is not what you want.
  • Thankyou for the reply Gizmodo.
    I'm not sure if Halfords allow testing of their bicycles,so it may have to come down to the looks department then. :?
  • Gizmodo raises a good point and I agree with him.

But forget about spec. You're already buying £1000 more bike than any more beginner needs, so choose the one that feels best to you. If you haven't allowed for funds for other kit though (clothing, tools, etc), there is no reason to not opt for a £700 bike; neither option will be with you forever.
  • Mikey41
    Mikey41 Posts: 690
    Absolutely agree.