To Be Demoralised or to Take Incentive?

OwenB
OwenB Posts: 606
edited October 2012 in Road beginners
I've been cycling for a few years now but still class myself as a beginner, most of my rides are short between 10 and 30 miles and have only just broken the 50 mile distance a few weeks back, but I have felt that I'm improving slowly.
Last night though I was passed by a group of 3 cyclists that made me look like I was sat still on the bike which obviously I put down to them riding in a group and benefiting from that, however this morning while I was thinking to myself how much I was improving on a certain hill on my way into work a guy went past me like I was riding through treacle!
Now I spent the rest of the ride contemplating my "improvements" and I know that I'm slow, I've always known I'm slow but I'm riding more now since I've begun to commute 20 mile round trip 3 times a week and in the last 8 weeks I've lost 21 pounds through this increase in cycling and a change in my eating habits so I'm not going to let myself get down about it. I also looked back through my gps data from my rides to work and noticed that I've managed to take almost ten minutes of my commute home time so I'm pleased with that!

A friend of mine has invited me to ride with him on the Lakeland Loop http://ridewithgps.com/routes/200810 in April a 70 mile sportive which takes in Whinlatter, Honister, Hardnott and Wrynose passes so I definitely need to improve!
So I'm going to keep riding, keep eating less and I'm not going to let myself be demoralised, I guess I just have to appreciate that there will always be people faster and I should aim to keep improving and hopefully I will manage the ride in April without too much stress.

Comments

• StillGoing
    StillGoing Posts: 5,211