HELP! old school project raleigh record sprint

George_T_Harris
George_T_Harris Posts: 3
edited September 2012 in Road beginners
Hey guys, i'm new to road biking and recently i picked up a Raleigh Record Sprint renolds 501 frame for £30 ;) but haven't a clue where to start on her.
If you cant give me any specs on the bike e.g. year, frame/wheel sizes and if so where could replace the worn sticker set.
Need a new wheel set as spokes are loose and have rusted into the nipples :(, so can anyone recommend a budget replacement set of wheels with the correct size for the bike!?

Many thanks!

Comments

• you can start by selling it to me for £30
  • Drumlin
    Drumlin Posts: 120
    How much money are you prepared to spend ?
    Would welcome company for Sat rides west/south of Edinburgh, up to 3 hrs, 16mph ish. Please PM me if interested/able to help.
  • Very cool bike! And a bargain price.

The decals sometimes crop up on ebay, otherwise i use a local signwriter who makes replica decals from photo's /dimensions in vinyl, he is pretty cheap.

I have a similar wheel dilemna with my two 80's raleigh reynolds 501 bikes, to avoid wasted purchases i'm putting one bike in a bike shop to get a new rear wheel fitted, then i'll copy whatever the shop does for my other wheels. Similar to you i just want budget alloy 700c rims which are half decent. I'll let you know how i get on.
  • secretsam
    secretsam Posts: 5,120
    Oh, good grief not another one...try the Commuting forum, a couple of people on there have bothered with this

It's a cheap and cheerful bike from the 80s, it was cheap when it came out and is really nothing special - think the standard of a boggo Airlite from Raleigh now

So don't spend a fortune on it, just because it's an old steel frame doesn't mean it's any good!

(PS: FWIW, I'm doing up an old 531 frame (full 531, mind) with mostly second hand bits and bobs - and I'm modernising it)

It's just a hill. Get over it.
  • rolf_f
    rolf_f Posts: 16,015