General advice sought

Atari Boy
Atari Boy Posts: 26
edited September 2012 in Road beginners
I am very new to road cycling so please be gentle.
I have just bought a road biased hybrid - a Giant Escape RX2 and have been riding for three weeks nearly.
My fitness levels are poor and I am overweight although fitness is improving, I am now able to ride for one hour non stop, covering 15 miles. I have found a local club who seem very good and they suggested I needed to be able to ride for two hours covering 30 miles to be be to join them on their rides - this is my first goal. I try to ride three times a week with a day off between rides, each ride is currently an hour long. I measure my 'progress' via Strava which I find useful.
I am enjoying it already and my main goal is to get fit, I am going to enter the L2B next year.

If anyone can offer some advice or tips I would be very grateful.

The sort of questions I have are:

Is my hybrid okay for my cycling if I improve?
Can I continue to ride through the winter, do others?
My peddles have the capacity for me to use cleats, would I benifit from them at my level?
I assume good old fashioned hard work is the only way to improve my speed, correct?

Many thanks,

Comments

• ♠ChumBucket♠
    ♠ChumBucket♠ Posts: 388
    edited September 2012
    Atari Boy wrote:
    I am very new to road cycling so please be gentle.
    I have just bought a road biased hybrid - a Giant Escape RX2 and have been riding for three weeks nearly.
    My fitness levels are poor and I am overweight although fitness is improving, I am now able to ride for one hour non stop, covering 15 miles. I have found a local club who seem very good and they suggested I needed to be able to ride for two hours covering 30 miles to be be to join them on their rides - this is my first goal. I try to ride three times a week with a day off between rides, each ride is currently an hour long. I measure my 'progress' via Strava which I find useful.